Watch this space for details of further confirmed authors and speakers.

Michael Arditti

Michael Arditti is a novelist, short story writer and critic. His novels include Easter, Unity, The Enemy of the Good, Jubilate, The Breath of Night and Widows and Orphans. His novels have been short- and long-listed for several literary awards and Easter won the inaugural Waterstone’s Mardi Gras award.

Louise Buckley

Louise Buckley is an Associate Agent at Zeno Agency and freelance publishing and editorial consultant. She has extensive experience in publishing, working previously as an editor at Pan Macmillan and Dorling Kindersley, and as a bookseller. As an agent Louise represents both commercial and literary fiction, and non-fiction. Her interests are wide-ranging and include well-written crime and thrillers, women’s fiction, historical fiction and young adult fantasy novels, along with cookery and food writing, self-help, popular psychology, social history and true crime writing.

Chris Curran

Chris Curran has lived in St Leonards on Sea for twenty years. Her first two psychological thrillers, Mindsight and Her Turn To Cry, were both Amazon bestsellers. She also writes short stories one of which was recently shortlisted for the 2017 CWA Margery Allingham award. Her latest novel, Her Deadly Secret, was published as an ebook in July 2017 and a paperback in August.

Find out more on her website:  or follow her on twitter: @Christi_Curran

Michael Loveday

Michael Loveday has delivered over 1,000 hours of workshops in the past five years in community and Higher education, including for the Bath Flash Fiction Festival. His stories appear in UK and international journals such as Flash: The International Short-Short Story Magazine; The Forge Literary Magazine; and Stand.

Simon Mawer

An Oxford trained biologist, Mawer has long combined writing with teaching biology, principally in Rome where he has lived for the last forty years. His writing career began in 1989 with the publication by Hamish Hamilton of his first novel, Chimera. This won the Society of Authors’ McKitterick Prize for first novels in 1990. Two more novels followed before Mendel’s Dwarf in 1997 reached the last ten of the Booker Prize and was a New York Times “Book to Remember” for 1998. The Gospel of JudasThe Fall (winner of the 2003 Boardman Tasker Prize for Mountain Literature) and Swimming to Ithaca followed.
In 2009 The Glass Room was published,The Guardian describing it as “a thing of extraordinary beauty and symmetry”. Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize, the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction and the Wingate Prize, it was a bestseller in the US and the UK.
Trapeze was his ninth novel, published in 2012. The New York Times said of it that the reader is “left dangling at the denouement in cliff-hanger purgatory, waiting for the sequel”. Tightrope, the sequel, duly came out 2015.  In March 2016 it was chosen as Waterstones Novel of the Month and in June it won the 2016 Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction, the same prize for which The Glass Room had been short-listed seven years earlier.
Mawer has also written two nonfiction books, A Place in Italy, published in Britain in 1992, and Gregor Mendel, Planting the Seeds of Genetics (US, 2006).
Mawer’s work has been widely translated. INFilm Praha are about to shoot a screen version of The Glass Room, which has also been brilliantly adapted for the stage in Mendel’s home city of Brno.

Toni Mount

Toni Mount is an author, teacher and historic interpreter who regularly gives talks and runs classes in her specialist area of medieval history, on subjects ranging from food and medicine to costume, crime and punishment.  Through her website she provides online tuition, and has written several historical textbooks as well as the Sebastian Foxley series of medieval murder mysteries.