HASTINGS Litfest Crooked Cat Books Crime Novel Competition Update!

The Crime Novel competition has now closed for entries. Authors have sent work to us from as far as Australia, Canada and the USA, as well as from all parts of the UK and Ireland. A big thank you to everyone who entered.


The following five novels comprise our Shortlist for the Crooked Cat / Hastings LitFest Crime Novel prize (in alphabetical order by author surname):

Inescapable – James Andrew
I Will Find You – David Callinan
The Unmaking of Eden – Dakota Canon
Not Forgotten – Nicola Ratnett
The Girl from Long Ago – Gordon M Scott


(listed alphabetically by author surname):

Inescapable, James Andrew
I Will Find You, David Callinan
The Unmaking of Eden, Dakota Canon
Care to Die, Alexander Frew
Limbo, Maureen Gallagher
Face to Face, Ann Gawthorpe
The Price of Treasure, John Gradoville
Family Outings, M K Hannan
The Early Hours, Diane McInnes
Not Forgotten, Nicola Ratnett
The Girl From Long Ago, Gordon M Scott
Five Lessons in Lying, Raili Taylor
Dark Ground, Mark Wagstaff

Laurence Patterson of Crooked Cat commented on the breadth of styles and approaches in the entries received, which the team very much enjoyed as they worked their way towards deciding on the final thirteen.

What happens next?

The Winner and Runner-up are to be announced on SUNDAY 2nd SEPTEMBER at the Festival’s closing event at Royal Victoria Hotel*. The announcement takes place immediately after the Crime Fiction panel featuring Marnie Riches, David Videcette, Sheila Bugler and Chris Curran, plus an audience of eager crime fans.

*    not Hastings Pier as previously posted

  • First Prize: publication of your novel by Crooked Cat Books, plus HASTINGS Litfest trophy and £150.
  • Runner up: HASTINGS Litfest trophy and £100.

Amanda Burton, known to crime writers everywhere as Sam Ryan of BBC’s Silent Witness, will present the prizes and also read from the winning novel.